What exactly is an unfunded liability?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    rt

I know, I know, as a subscriber to Liberty Classroom I should know this. I’ve looked it up in the internet but couldn’t find exactly what I need. People claim that the unfunded liabilities of Social Security and Medicare exceed 100 trillion dollars. Where does this number come from and how is it calculated? Is it the amount of dollars in benefits that currently living Americana will get once they retire but is not available in the trust fund now? Or in the future? I’m sure Dr Herbener can help me out!

derosa8

Lol don’t feel like you should know everything as a subscriber! I’m a complete amateur with all this liberty, but joined for learning purposes.

To my understanding, in the most layman terms I can think of, “An unfunded liability is debt, i.e. something owed, but there has been nothing set aside or invested for the future payment of the debt.”

But hopefully Jeff can weigh in since I have no idea how all the unfunded liabilities are calculated.

jmherbener
    Participant

An unfunded liability is when someone is obligated to make future payments but does not own assets that generate sufficient future revenues to meet his obligations. A pension fund, for example, pools contributions to the fund and makes investments with the money that generate returns in the future to pay the fund’s obligations. If a pension fund has an unfunded liability, it is measured by the present value of the shortfall in paying the future stream of obligations. That is, the present amount of money that the pension fund would need to invest to generate enough revenue in the future to make up the shortfall.

Take a look at Gary North’s explanation of the calculation:

http://www.garynorth.com/public/804print.cfm