Teaching opportunity and assistance needed

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    rickmontes
    Participant

. I recently enrolled in Liberty classroom and have been enjoying it immensely. I graduated recently from Western Connecticut State University where I had the pleasure of studying with Kevin Gutzman. I was just offered a part time teaching position at a local community college Western civilization to 1648. I will be given a text book to use but can supplement with anything I choose My familiarity is mainly with early American constitution. I have noted some of the sources used here in Liberty classroom. Could you suggest more sources that I can utilize? I value your expertise and want to make sure my students get good information.

Rick
    Congratulations on the appointment.
    Where does the text book start its western civilization overview?

rickmontes
    Participant

Thank you. I will get the text book tomorrow. Any pointers or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

rickmontes
    Participant

The Text books are: Western Civilization, the continuing Experiment Noble, Strauss, Osheim, Neuschel, Cohen & Roberts Vol. 1 2005
    Spartacus by Howard Fast
    Spartacus and the Slave Revolt by Brent Shaw

Jason Jewell
    Participant

Congratulations, Rick!

The textbook’s title is revealing . . . the reference to a civilization as an “experiment” is a sign that it is probably written from a left/progressive viewpoint. Two books on Spartacus (assigned to you for a survey?) seem like overkill as well.

In my experience many survey texts shortchange the Hebrews, so you may need to supplement a bit there.

If you could give the main text a quick skimming upon arrival and let me know your impressions, it would help me figure out what supplemental material to recommend.

rickmontes
    Participant

Dr. J,

The book does not seem to bad at first glance. Here is the required syllabus: