Mr. Lincoln's War

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Dr. McClanahan,
    I just wanted to thank you for the lectures on the war. I’m a grad student and had a class last fall (Readings in US history to 1877) which basically took the Northern position, so this set of lectures and readings will go a long way to balancing out that perspective. Again, thank you very much.

gutzmank
    Participant

You may be interested to know that in chapter 5 of _James Madison and the Making of America_, I show — what no other account of these events has ever mentioned — that Virginia Federalists — FEDERALISTS — said in the Virginia Ratification Convention that secession would be a state’s right under the proposed US Constitution.

cboyack
    Keymaster

Kevin: That’s incredible! I haven’t had the privilege of reading your book yet, although it is on my list for the future.

Which Federalists said that? Were any of the individuals that made that statement present during all or part of the Philadelphia Convention?

My pleasure. Glad you enjoyed it.

woods
    Participant

Check out this article by Kevin: http://www.lewrockwell.com/gutzman/gutzman12.html

gutzmank
    Participant