HBO's 'Newsroom'

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    bigfishjuan
    Participant

I am enjoying HBO’s new series ‘Newsroom’, but every time they bring up an economic issue, my instincts tell me they’re wrong… I just don’t know exactly why. Although my BA is in Economics & Business, it’s been 12 years since I graduated and I’ve been focusing my subsequent studies elsewhere. I plan to watch all the Economics lectures on the website, but I want to finish the Western Civ and US History courses first.

So anyway, here’s my question. Are you watching the show? Would you be able to briefly respond to economic issues raised in the show each week? And perhaps you could do the same for any other shows you already follow. I think this would be a great practical way to facilitate economic discussions. Armed with your insights, we could speak more intelligently with our friends about issues that are being covered on popular television!

Thank you.

bigfishjuan
    Participant

By the way, the big topics I’ve noticed so far have been Glass-Steagall and the debt ceiling “crisis.”

jmherbener
    Participant

I’m afraid I don’t watch TV. Maybe you or other members could post about claims or analyses being made and the rest of us could make some criticisms.

bigfishjuan
    Participant

The series is about a fictitious national cable news show, and the purpose is to show through fictitious characters how the biggest news events of the past few years should have been covered by the media. In one episode, a sexy female economist/anchor is trying to teach the producer of the show everything she needs to know about the economic crisis, and she does so by making the claim that Glass-Steagall ushered in the greatest economic advances the world had ever seen. Then, when it was repealed, the deregulation caused the crisis.