Distributism and the Enclosure Acts

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    jmaxbecher

Dear Professors,
    This question is intended primarily for Dr. Woods, since the articles I have been reading are either by him, or by his critics, but I would be delighted to hear the perspective of anyone who can help.

I studied Catholic theology in graduate school, and wrote my master’s thesis on “Agriculture in Catholic Social Teaching.” Agriculture and CST were (are) both fields of intense interest for me, although unfortunately I was seriously under qualified to write what I did, and am now thoroughly embarrassed of the majority of my thesis. I had virtually no knowledge of economics, let alone the history of agriculture I was presenting, or the industrial revolution – I simply cherry picked various lines from CST and tried to piece together a picture of agriculture and society envisioned by authors such as Chesterton, Belloc, Thomas Stork, E.F. Schumacher, Joseph Pierce, Wendell Berry and Denis Fahey – most of whom favor in some form or another “distributism” as a social model.

Then, I discovered Dr. Woods’ article “CST and Economic Law: An Unresolved Tension.” It was a major wake up call. I started re-assessing the distributist model favored by people like Stork and Christopher Ferrara. I read the back and forth between you and Stork, and have to say that I found your articles more convincing, and that they did more actual explaining of the phenomena in question. You basically turned me into an Austrian, and here I am at Liberty Classroom.

But my old “Distributist Heritage” still has some questions. One is about the enclosure acts in England, which I am just learning about now. In a 3-part article, Christopher Ferrara seems to think that your view of the enclosure acts discredits Austrians and proves the viability of distributism.
    http://distributistreview.com/mag/2011/07/the-austrian-version-of-the-english-enclosures/