Books regarding the wars

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    andrew.esselbach
    Participant

I keep seeing references to these books on the two world wars, and I’m curious if you recommend any of them?

Politics of War: The Story of Two Wars Which Altered Forever the Political Life of the
    American Republic – Walter Karp

America Goes to War – Charles C. Tansill

Back Door to War: The Roosevelt Foreign Policy 1933-1941 – Charles C. Tanshill

The Origins of The Second World War – A.J.P Taylor

Also, have there been any good books written on Operation Iraqi Freedom, challenging the mainstream justifications for the invasion? As an OIF combat vet, I still haven’t completely figured out why I was over there fighting and terrorizing those poor people.

woods
    Participant

I like all of those books. On Operation Iraqi Freedom you might consult the two Neo-Conned books, which I review here: http://archive.lewrockwell.com/woods/woods51.html

I’m sure there are others. I have been considering reading Craig White’s book Iraq: The Moral Reckoning.

andrew.esselbach
    Participant

If you don’t mind me asking, is there a reason that these books were not included in the recommended readings for the WW1 and WW2 lectures?

Because time is somewhat limited, if you had to pick just one or two to recommend reading, what books would you choose for WW1 and also for WW2?

Thanks.

Tansill is one of the best American historians of the 20th century. He sacrificed his career to offer stinging criticism of Roosevelt’s foreign policy.

samgheb
    Participant

Taylor’s book is a classic but I really Patrick Buchanan’s newer book on WWII “The Unnecessary War” which is ideal for the intelligent laymen. He explains WWI as well so it is almost a 2 for 1 deal with this book. In case you might think Buchanan is not a good historian read Robert Higg’s review of the book: